Apply Now

NOC students earn Reach Higher scholarships

Twenty-four Northern Oklahoma College students received scholarships through Reach Higher, an initiative led by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education to assist adult learners in finishing a college degree.

According to Kathleen Swain, Coordinator of Student Academic Success Services, a number of NOC degree programs have been approved for the Reach Higher Direct Complete program, which are programs that align with the 100 most critical jobs in Oklahoma.

Reach Higher has also recently been awarded funds to distribute to institutions to use for adult learner scholarships, as long as the students meet all of the requirements.

“As the Reach Higher Navigator, I have worked with students who completed a Reach Higher scholarship application,” Swain said.  “It’s exciting to see 24 students receive scholarships.”

To qualify, students must be 25 years old or older and be within 30 hours of completing their degree.

NOC students receiving scholarships are as follows:

Agricultural Sciences (AS): Angel Eguia; Biological Sciences – Pre-Medicine (AS): Aubrei Littlewalker; Business Administration (AS): Catherine Miller, Benjamin Streck, Whitney Streck; Math & Physical Science – Pre-Engineering (AS): Macey Reese; Nursing – RN (AAS): Mikaela Browning, Cristopher Caez-Rojas, Jacqueline Cheatwood, Patricia Frickenshmidt, Ann Galindo, Lauren Haley, Trista Kilian, Kristen Leading Fox; Process Technology (AAS): Devin Barnett; Social Science – Behavioral Science (AS): Meredith Andrews, Andrea Bunch, John Hofferber, Erica Jefferson, Julian Pendergraft, Jordan Powell, Julia Ruckel, Chellsie Quinn, Ryane Vion

Other degree programs that match up with the critical jobs list: Biological Sciences (AS), Business Management (AAS), Computer Science (AS), Criminal Justice (AA), Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (AS), Health, Physical Education, and Recreation – Personal Training option (AS), and Respiratory Therapy (AAS).

Students in the Reach Higher program will be honored at a reception in Oklahoma City on April 29.