Apply Now

Dr. Clark Harris’ Presidential Investiture set for Oct. 29 at NOC

Dr. Clark Harris

Dr. Clark Harris’ Presidential Investiture set for Oct. 29 at NOC

The investiture for Dr. Clark Harris, the 14th president for Northern Oklahoma College, will be held Friday, Oct. 29, in the Foster-Piper Fieldhouse on the Northern Oklahoma College Tonkawa campus at 2 p.m.

The event also coincides with the 120-year anniversary of Northern Oklahoma College.

Dr. Harris assumed the NOC presidency on July 1, 2021 following Dr. Cheryl Evans who held the post for 10 years.

“I feel that through communication, collaboration and community investment we will continue to grow Northern Oklahoma College,” Harris said.  “NOC is a great institution and I am humbled to have the opportunity to lead the college into the future. My goal is to build on the tremendous success that President Evans and the wonderful faculty and staff have demonstrated at Northern.

“I will spend a lot of time listening to the ideas and suggestions from the students, employees, and community stakeholders,” he added.  “I am here to enhance our students’ opportunities as they develop their pathway to a rewarding future, at the same time building a stronger workforce for our state and particularly Northwest Oklahoma.”

The tradition of an investiture officially marks the beginning of a new leader’s administration.  Sometimes referred to as an “inauguration”, the investiture is an academic ceremony held to confer the official power of the office upon a new college president, usually held during their first year in office. An investiture reflects academic traditions, celebrates institutional history, and symbolizes a new era in the life of the institution. The ceremony begins with a formal procession, much like a commencement. The procession includes the individuals in the platform party participating in the ceremony, delegates from the other Oklahoma colleges and universities, and from NOC faculty. Faculty will wear full academic regalia during the investiture procession and ceremony that follows.

The ceremony will include congratulatory remarks from Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, greetings from NOC Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Linda Brown on behalf of supporters of higher education, and the official presentation of the symbols of a high office by president emeritus Dr. Cheryl Evans.

The NOC College Choir and Concert Band will perform.  A reception will follow the investiture on the circle lawn just south of Foster-Piper Fieldhouse.  An invitation-only delegate luncheon will be held at the Renfro Center from 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. The 2 p.m. investiture is open to the public.

NOC is limiting capacity to 70% of the maximum indoor facility seating to ensure possibility of social distancing.  The event will be available on Livestream at .

The following is a list of the NOC Presidents:

James Herbert Kelley (1902-1909)

John P. Alley (1909-1911)

Lynn Glover (1911-1916)

W.C. French (1916-1917)

Richard M. Caldwell (1919-1928)

Dr. Roscoe Robinson (1928-1939)

Dr. Loren Brown (1939-1951)

Dr. Georgy Huckaby (1951-1952)

Dr. Verlin Robert Easterling (1953-1965)

Dr. Edwin E. Vineyard (1965-1990)

Dr. Joe Kinzer (1990- 2008)

Dr. Roger Stacy (2008-2010)

Dr. Cheryl Evans (2011-2021)

Dr. Clark Harris (2021-Present)